Poets logo

Reserved

Is This It?

By Gerald HolmesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
9
Photo by Maud Beauregard on Unsplash

The pulsating sound grows arms and pulls me

Not unwillingly; But like a moth to a flame

The calm quiet of the long hotel hallway

Being attacked with each step forward

As man attacks fear; moving towards destiny

****

The River Club door trembles on its hinges

Pushing inward reveals a sensory explosion

A sea of humanity swaying to the music

Loud chatter, singing and the scent of perfume

As the shy ones, like me, hold up the fringes

****

This place exudes life like none I’ve seen before

While half a world away, my place sits waiting

Reserved; Yells the only tables sitting empty

My western face causing curious conversations

Moving bravely to the bar; away from the door

****

Anxiety slowly rising; Alone, waiting to be served

Laughter and yelling, echoing, getting louder

The drunken guys beside me are playing a drinking game

Slamming down their glasses and becoming more annoying

The cool drink in my hand calms me; heading back to Reserved

****

Two minutes at the table an Angel comes to inform me

“These tables are Reserved; our friends are coming soon”

Pulled into her eyes, I plead to stay for just a minute

Agreeing she smiles a smile that takes my breath away

Her beauty consumes me; she’s the only thing I see

****

Enchanted by her spell, I order wine for her table

Hoping and wishing for the chance to speak with her alone

Surprised by the gesture she turns and looks into my eyes

Before gracing me with the pleasure of her smile again

The hair rising on my arms informs this moment is fatal

****

She seems to float as she walks in an aura of soft, warm light

The wine trembling in her hand, she asks if I would like to share

Quickly I agree, surprised I can’t believe this is happening

She sits and as we stare, I see the future in her eyes

Is this it? Is this what people call, “Love at First Sight?”

****

love poems
9

About the Creator

Gerald Holmes

Born on the east coast of Canada. Travelled the world for my job and discovered that kindness is the most attractive feature in any human.

R.I.P. Tom Brad. Please click here to be moved by his stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.