Poets logo

Rescued by His Eyes

A poem

By Jennifer GeerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Alexander Popov on Unsplash

It was a rare chance I came out that night

A persuasive friend and my own boredom

Took me off my couch and away from my comfort

As I feared, the night turned into disaster

When I found myself darting down a hallway

In desperate attempt to avoid an unwanted advance

Turning the corner, red cup firmly in hand

Ready to give things up for the night

And return to my soft, welcoming couch

But - I bumped directly into a firm, broad chest

And looked up - to see ocean gray eyes look back at me

Clutching my cup - my face blushed and my heart did flips

Who was this stranger with the smile on his lips?

Suddenly, my unwanted suitor swung into view

Stubbornly, I pretended not to see him

He gave up and slowly wandered off

As my eyes, my heart, my entire self

Became overtaken by this other.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Geer

Writing my life away. Runner/mama/wife/eternal optimist/coffee enthusiast. Masters degree in Psychology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.