Poets logo

Reoccur

It’s just a dream now, wake up

By BBPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Reoccur
Photo by Michael Herren on Unsplash

I can feel the tired mud between my toes

It’s not my first encounter with this dream

A wet cold earth filled with determination

Soaked to my core with stardust and triumph

But the pathway here has not been easy,

Many wandering nights, falling, and burning, the exhaustion of a dream slipping away with my sips of daybreaks coffee

But nay, we have yet to reach the wake of the day

It is the dark night lit only by the full pulling moon

The trials and wounds of my past saturating my mind as my dream ticks on

The rain on my skin as vivid as the day

The raw end staring me in the face

And again and again I rise

The dream is always the same

Not an ounce of strength left

The light inside flashing and flickering and my power itself feels of lightening not a dream

Then the storm

Welling inside me

My chest fills with fire and breathe

The cry of a wounded soul circling the dreams of the pasts never ending

My scream carries to the moon

As my mind and eyes stay shut tight in this place

A dream and a memory no place to escape

Just sleep and be brave in the full moons tight grip

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.