Poets logo

Remnants

A poem for trauma survivors

By Crystal JacksonPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like
Remnants
Photo by John Hernandez on Unsplash

Dissociation was always my key move

I could leave the room without ever leaving you

I could look away from what I didn’t want to see

I could reflect you without you ever seeing me

Words streaming from my lips but I could not speak my pain

I hid it beneath the stories like tears falling in the rain

In the echoes of my silence you read as selfish chatter

Was the remnants of a violence I pretended did not matter

I could smile with the best of them -- all the while, my soul is screaming

Waiting for the day to come when I don’t (have to) survive by dreaming.

sad poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Crystal Jackson

Crystal Jackson is a former therapist turned author. Her work has been featured on Medium, Elite Daily, NewsBreak, Your Tango, and The Good Men Project. She is the author of the Heart of Madison series and 3 volumes of poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.