Poets logo

Remembrance

Where memories reside.

By Jasmine S.Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
5
Image credit, depositphotos

Johnny cake, chicken souse, peas soup n' dough, all familiar food scents that remind me of you.

Stepping into this house on a summer afternoon, clear cloudless blue skies, a warm breeze, your hugs and kisses.

You, sitting in your favorite chair where everyone knows to find you, always with the rear house door open.

Allowing summer in, while everyone around you sweats profusely, you're there cool as a cucumber.

Or your deep belly laughs often because of the antics of the children and the jokes being told over dinner, tears rolling down your apple cheeks.

You were, you are the focal point of your family, of my day, a kind word, an offered treat and an inquiry of my day, no matter what I know you out of anyone would care.

Blink

Now, standing under the roof of the once cheerful, open and welcoming home, where your presence is no longer felt.

It seems even the environment feels your loss as well, your once flourishing trees; mango, scarlet plum, avocado, dilly, noni have not found us worthy of their bounty with your absence.

There is a void, wishing you were here, but that shadow crept in, thick as molasses, when we, when I least expected, it devoured your mind then your body followed.

Only if I had the power to keep you here, at the same time feeling my powerlessness to do so, so I hold in my heart that someday soon I'll see you again.

Until then this place of memories, this place of remembrance will have to do, to fill that hollow space, when I want to feel at home.

sad poetry
5

About the Creator

Jasmine S.

Born: The Bahamas, Grand Bahama

Trying my hand at short stories, I always liked to read but never thought I could write stories. It's never too late to start. I appreciate any reads or comments.

Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.