Poets logo

Remembering You Poem

Grief and Loss

By Alexis MundyPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
2

My son you meant the world to me.

The moment I saw you my heart swelled with love, and

It was as if you knew how much you were wanted, the way you opened your

eyes and looked up at me as if you could see my very soul, touched me.

So innocent, so small and vulnerable, yet I could also feel a strength inside

you. I knew you would make your mark in the world one day.

.

Little did I know that at 30 you would be gone,

and my heart would break into tiny pieces.

Why Andrew? I have asked myself this question every day,

but all I hear is the echo of my own voice crying out in pain.

You had a future if only you had realised how much you were loved by

everyone, how caring you were always thinking of everyone else.

I miss you so much son, my life is empty, sorrow grows.

The days and nights are long, sometimes all I think of are memories of you.

Other days tears cascade down my cheeks like a river that never ends,

then I hear your voice saying I am here, don't cry I am at peace.

Live your life for me, remember me but don't dwell too much

For one day we will be together again until then be happy for me Mum.

Alexis Mundy

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Alexis Mundy

I am originally from the UK. Now living in New Zealand. My life so far has been a rollercoaster. I have children with special needs, lost my previous husband in 2008 and in 2021 my son Andrew died. Writing has and is cathartic for me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist9 months ago

    So sorry for your loss of a child❤️I believe he is telling you that he is okay and at peace and that it is important for you to live your life and not dwell on the past. Writing can be so healing and poetry is one of the ways to deal with grief. You wrote a powerful message that so many need to hear! Sometimes are children are gone before they die, as addiction is taking one of ours. Then we have one that just celebrated 9 years in recovery.

  • I'm so sorry for your loss 🥺 This was a beautiful and emotional poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.