Poets logo

Remember

a poem about love

By Stevie HowardPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Remember
Photo by Avinash Kumar on Unsplash

I heard you before I saw you.

Your voice filled the room and, in that moment,

Hundreds of our shared lifetimes flooded my soul.

Pay Attention.

Something sprang up from deep inside of me and pulled me,

Willed me to you.

It’s them. They’re back.

I knew.

Whoever you were in the past had always been mine and who ever I was now needed to be yours.

I recognized you. Remembered you. Longed for you.

My soul burned with the ache of being apart from you for so long.

I used to dream of you.

Could feel you holding me, could hear your voice.

As I looked at you, the faceless memories became realities

I was lost in you, mesmerized by the person standing there in front of me.

No one else mattered.

Every person I had been with until now had been a steppingstone,

A part of my path to you.

As we began to become friends, I felt more alive than I ever had before.

When you embraced me for the first time, I had finally found home.

I tell people that falling in love with you was like falling asleep, slowly at first and then all at once.

But truthfully, I always loved you and now I was starting to remember.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Stevie Howard

Well hello there.

I'm a nerd, a mom, and human that is addicted to caffeine. I suffer from some intense writers block and I even wrote a poem about it. I love to write and aspire to publish my own work in book format.

One day at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.