Poets logo

Remaking a Complicated Love

Parent and Partner

By Kate GallPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
4
Remaking a Complicated Love
Photo by Alex Boyd on Unsplash

You were ready for me

But, in truth, I cannot say

I believed I was ready for you

I did not know you fully, yet

I loved you so much

I blindly convinced myself

To give you my body

Fearing I might lose you

So small and fragile

I worried and lost sleep

I feared I might lose myself

To your powerful scream and flailing limbs

You took from me, seemingly without giving

But, of course, that is not true

You brought me pure joy and purpose in life

I pampered and took care of you

Helping you

Grow up

____________________________________________________

*Note: This is an update to my original submission "Complicated Love: From Parent to Partner" to meet the 100-word requirement for poems and be eligible for the Inverse challenge. It is a reverse poem made to be read top to bottom and bottom to top.

sad poetrylove poemsFree VerseFamilyCONTENT WARNING
4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Christina Vanhaerents3 months ago

    I felt this <3

  • Test3 months ago

    This was so sad and heartbreaking. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.