Poets logo

Relief

An idiotic attempt to overload the Eclipse acrostic, interweaving three further acrostic requirements as the moon passes the sun. Why, Hannah, why?

By Hannah MoorePublished 15 days ago 1 min read
23
'cause it's just not going to work with formatting

Ever pure and Steady, moon’s Midnight monochrome gleaM

Casts shadow Upon creatures Seeking hidden places, in whO

Lights fear, or Nightly lusting, Or living’s always needful echO

In discretion, Moon eclipses sUn, the vivid light of revelatioN

Pointed rays, Observing orb, Opening raw, indelicate secretS

Sacrificing all Only for truth, Naked ache of a grinning milieU

Enacting one Night stilled miNute, sun cedes a beat to mooN

Acrostic
23

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer2 days ago

    So clever! Excellent use of milieu!

  • Kelsey Clarey11 days ago

    The layers you added onto this challenge are so impressive!

  • Jazzy 13 days ago

    If only I could be this clever, you have given me a new challenge that I will not be attempting but only wishing I could pull off like you!

  • Novel Allen14 days ago

    I see that you have returned to eclipse us all. Welcome back from hibernation. It is good for the soul. If you count this down it would also fit into the One minute challenge. Cleverly and thought provokingly wonderful.

  • John Cox14 days ago

    You deliberately tied both your hands behind your back - poetically speaking - and yet still managed to deliver a beautiful poem with layer upon layer of deeper meaning. I guess if you don't mind tying yourself into a pretzel for art and form's sake, we don't mind reading the results!

  • Hang on, let me pick my jaw of the floor and find my mind that has been blown away. Hannah, this is like the most magnificent thing is the history of magnificent things! How long did you take to write this?

  • D.K. Shepard15 days ago

    I’d offer some awed comment but I’m trying to find my jaw back

  • Caroline Craven15 days ago

    Well you made the task infinitely more difficult but you absolutely nailed it! Thought this was really clever and beautiful. Nice one.

  • Kenny Penn15 days ago

    Very cleverly done, Hannah. I’ve missed your poetry.

  • OMGSH! This is so clever. I have a hard enough time with the first letters. Thank you for once again, pushing the envelope of creativity

  • Why, Hannah? Because YOU CAN! This is a work of art. The 3-3-1 structure, the theme of hiding and revealing, and the visual element all align magnificently. (See what I did there?) And "living’s always needful echo" is now one of my favorite metaphors for sleep. Jaw dropping poem!

  • Cathy holmes15 days ago

    I'm glad this is the first thing I read today. Subtitle gave me a chuckle, even though I'm not sufficiently caffeinated. The words you weave are beautiful, and those extra acrostic, damn. They may not line up well on they phone, but very clever. And torturous as well, I'm sure. Yeah, Hanna why. Why are you doing this to yourself? Lol. Great job.

  • Dana Crandell15 days ago

    Well, my next, soo-to-be-published one is a little harder, but you really went all out on this one. A little crazy, maybe, but clever as hell!

  • Christy Munson15 days ago

    I think the thing I enjoy most about your writing is the feeling it gives me to read your words. I allow myself to not think for a moment and just be with your words. Sit and absorb the vibrations for a while. Lovely turns of phrase here. And I love when we writers challenge ourselves beyond an existing challenge. Rise to the occasion and all... Beautiful work here.

  • Rachel Deeming15 days ago

    Well, that was clever! Nicely done. Blew my mind a little. I'm off to lie down.

  • Paul Stewart15 days ago

    Well now...this is why I love your writing so much...when you let loose and just go all crazy. I love this kinda "why not make it even harder" approach lol. You are such a marvel. And this is splendid...even without all the extra tricksiness. your words are impactful, beautiful and I just love how all of this feels. Hannah, amazing. I could have just said that...but it felt wrong to just say "Hannah, amazing" impolite or impersonal...oh well. I've made up for it by yammering on lol. Well done, The Hannah.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.