Poets logo

Relationship Ending

Poetry

By kd HoccanePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Relationship Ending
Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

Relationship Ending

As in some demented romantic comedy,

my wife and I divided the apartment in half.

She took the living room and I took the bedroom.

Bivouacked and bleeding, we waited for the lawyer

to finish the stipulation so we could sign

the pages and crawl away forever.

I lived in her midst like an alien species.

The exclusion zone sizzled like wet lightning

when I whispered to outsiders on the house phone.

Then came the morning of my departure:

I awoke in civil twilight with my wife standing

over me, looking down into my pallid face.

For half a second, I thought she might strike me,

but she grasped my hand and squeezed it goodbye,

an astonishing tenderness glistening in her eyes,

one final gift in all that pain and murderous détente,

all that wailing and mortification of the flesh.

On the way to the gallows of divorce,

she held a merciful cup of clemency to my lips,

and I drank deeply, I drank so deeply

that I forgot what I’d done to deserve her.

sad poetry

About the Creator

kd Hoccane

creative writer

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    kd HoccaneWritten by kd Hoccane

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.