Poets logo

Rekindling My Muse

while staring into space

By Heidi McCloskeyPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
4
Photo by Author

I thought I saw you the other day

Out of the corner of my eye,

Your familiar friendly face.

But it wasn’t you

Just a mistaken memory

A thought quickly replaced.

I thought I heard you whispering in the wind.

Words of inspiration spoken so softly

My ears couldn’t comprehend.

But it wasn’t you

Just a trick of the mind

Idly watching time slowly passing by.

It’s been too long my dear old friend!

Don’t you remember how well we used to play?

All the magic we created

Upon the many nights we happily stayed up late.

With you by my side this all made sense,

But now all I have is this cursor that blinks

Upon this bright and daunting blank screen.

I know I abandoned you so long ago

I didn’t mean to; it certainly wasn’t planned

Sometimes life just gets in the way.

But I need you back

To help calm this restless mind.

So, if you could just whisper a little bit again

I promise to listen, and

I promise this time I won’t be led astray.

The picture used is the corner of my desk. In the middle is my book fairy. I find myself staring at her blankly as I mentally search for words and inspiration quite frequently. Surrounding her are three scenic quartz that each hold glorious and unexplored universes within them. And of course my little groots who hold tiny crystals for inspiration, but sometimes I swear they are the ones waiting for me to inspire them.

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Heidi McCloskey

I have internally decided that I am a writer. Since that decision was made, the voice in my head has changed. It’s become louder as it begs to be released.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    This was a terrific piece Heidi. Good imagery - as I was thinking of old friends and then you threw me! ☺️ I have to say how much I love your writing space. It looks 3D and I need crystals around me so this was inspiring. They help ground me i.e in my pocket, while reading etc.

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    You captured this feeling so well. I am begging my muse to come back too.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.