Poets logo

Reinvention...or discovery?

What am I?

By CJPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

On my 23rd year of living and I keep pondering the same questions. Who am I? Who do I want to become? Who should I be? What should I be? How can I be the best me I can be?

I'm not naive enough to believe this phase will end quickly, nor do I believe I am the only one. We humans aere social creatures that have thrived on endless reiteractions of social statuses. But when have we ever went back to the basics? Peace, love and happiness.... have those too been lost in translation?

Do what makes you happy and in that act of pursuit you will achieve success through the processs. This is what we have been told but what was lost in translation were the struggles and tribulations of the journey. We as people from a young age always have had an idol or two. Someone we hold dear and look up to. Thinking " If only I was as half as good as them". There goes the spiral.

Copy and paste their swag, their routines, their beliefs with the greatest prayer that they will be there. CRASH! Honey, what were you thinking? Walking in their shoes will not make your dreams come true. Lace up your own kicks and fight off them sticks. Little did we know, we have our own duties to uphold.....

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

CJ

A wondering and wandering artist looking for meaning. Open to all and fear none. Thank you for your support.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.