Poets logo

Regal, Royals, Royalty

To be the Queen of your own Castle...

By Nicole CPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Regal, Royals, Royalty
Photo by Alice Alinari on Unsplash

How do you get to feel that

sense of Pride in yourself

and what you are doing? What

you’ve chosen; this life, this Path

And all its little luxuries?

To be the Queen of your own

Castle, to be the King of this

suburb; to serve? To obey. To

Lead with both head and heart.

Who’s mowing their lawns?

Maintaining their pools? Taking

out the rubbish bins. Don’t you

dare stop these routines -

Or what will the neighbours

Think?

I’m a King if I bought myself a

Big Mac for dinner. You’re my

Queen if I get you this $50

Shopping voucher.

Temporary bliss.

slam poetry

About the Creator

Nicole C

Writing sporadically... I tried some challenges but never won anything. Sometimes my poetry helps me process whatever has been going on... sometimes it is pure fiction. Sometimes I like to write about pop culture and astrology.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Nicole CWritten by Nicole C

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.