Poets logo

Refrain

In the madness, a melody plays.

By Jen ChichesterPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Refrain
Photo by Joshua Fuller on Unsplash

In the madness, a melody plays.

And I listen for days in a daze -

Beautiful strings, a choir sings,

But the words are absent

Of meaning -

Or maybe there is method in this madness?

In the sadness of a macabre mind,

Fast-forwarding, now on rewind -

Symbols fly, gone sky-high,

But are utterly void

Of feeling -

Is there memory after the sadness?

If only I could stop thinking.

If only I could sleep.

If only I could stop feeling.

If I weren't in so deep.

I strain my ears to hear the refrain.

I pain my eyes blind to rain.

This is the only way through.

love poemssurreal poetrysad poetryheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Jen Chichester

Greetings, Readers of Quality!

I am your humble host, Jen Chichester, also known as That Crime Writer Chick - bringing you true crime news in real time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.