Poets logo

Refracted

Multiple colors. One true light.

By Marina FortuñoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
7
(Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash )

Endless colors made of starlight,

that is what we are.

Wavelengths dancing in the spectrum:

faintly soft, or sharp and bright.

..

The world screams we are not the same,

estranged in category or class.

Rays -dispersed and refracted-

when we were born to shine as one.

Yet, life is not a single tone.

Souls were meant to tread the lines,

combining tints and hues, and radiance.

Harmonious in our finite time.

Me? I glow dandelion yellow,

then a pensive sapphire blue.

True orange, as my fire burns

and sometimes all at once, like you.

Tuesdays you are scarlet red,

other times sweet, citrus green.

I adore your every shade.

Your freedom means the world to me.

So, I ignore the angry voices,

telling me to hate your ‘side’.

And, though I fit ‘the golden standard’,

a candid rhyme plays in my mind:

“Pink or black, your hair is precious

Light or dark, your skin is life.

Boy or girl? Our hearts beat equal.

Love runs deep within each one.

Souls deserve to paint their journey,

free their voice to sing their song.

Reflected always by each other,

foggy mirrors ‘till we learn.”

Colors are but an illusion.

Beams, bended by things crystalline.

We project on any surface,

prismatic beauty for the sight.

Earthly beings, we are refracted

until the day we merge as one.

I hope to meet you in a future

where love is love, and light is light.

-

Poetry is not my usual writing style, but these words were pressing inside my mind (and my heart). It's so important to remember: in this world, we are all a part of a whole, one and the same in the end. This poem is my way of expressing that.

Thank you for reading! If you like this piece, please consider leaving a like (or even a tip!), or share with your loved ones, and anyone who needs to read this. Every gesture of support means a lot to me as a writer!

You may also enjoy my other works, like my short fiction or my recent letter to women everywhere.

Love, Marina

social commentary
7

About the Creator

Marina Fortuño

I'm a work in progress! I love writing for fun (mainly short stories, informative bits and heartfelt pieces to make people happy).

This is my personal writing page.

Find me:

TW: @marina_writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.