Poets logo

Reflection

Words spill out before it makes sense but it always comes to an answer in the end

By A. NguyenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Reflection
Photo by Михаил Секацкий on Unsplash

The figure before me isn't real. Not

a reflection, but another being entirely.

Why does it taunt me? Mirroring

my every movement... almost.

Something not quite right.

The slight upturn of my lip,

darkness in the eyes,

can't quite place it but

feels sinister none the less... or

is it the truth behind the facade?

Am I the fake? Is the reflection

my authentic personality?

That would explain the void felt

in moments where thoughts intrude

alone, vacant, craving... something.

Whatever you are,

I do not hate you

nor do I like you.

You are me

and I am you.

One cannot exist

without the other,

like every cliché.

Necessary opposing forces

yin and yang,

light and darkness,

good and evil and

any other of the likes.

Sadly humans refuse to be

one or the other so we bleed

neither black or white,

blood is red after all.

Too many reasons,

lesser evils, spiteful goods,

selfish reasons, selfless actions.

Maybe I've been corrupted

and my morals have skewed

or this is the reality we've

grown to accept that we forget

but one thing I know is that

who I see in the mirror is a being

I am not ashamed of even if

whatever you are may scare me,

change is necessary.

surreal poetrysocial commentaryfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

A. Nguyen

A writer at heart who wants to share my works. I want to evoke emotion in people when they read my writing but I won't ever know if I can, if I don't put anything out into the world so this is my first step :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.