Poets logo

Reese’s Peanut Butter Puffs (the cereal)

A Pantoum

By Kate Kastelberg Published 2 months ago 1 min read
2

“Reese’s Peanut Butter Puffs!” I exclaim, always

When Courtney, the babysitter, inquires what I want

For a snack on those languid summer days—

Afternoons in the cool kitchen, watching Animaniacs on the mini TV, I’m a true gourmand.

When Courtney, the babysitter, fixes me what I want—

Spherules of puffs floating in 2% milk,

Swirling afternoons spent watching Animaniacs. A true gourmand:

I ladle spoonful after spoonful of peanut buttery, chocolatey silk.

Spherules of puffs floating in 2% milk.

“One day you’re gonna turn into a Reese’s Peanut Butter Puff,” Courtney, one day, decries.

Spoonful after spoonful of nutty, chocolate silk,

“You are what you eat.” Then, Defensive Me: “Am not! That’s a buncha lies!”

“You’ll turn into a Reese’s Peanut Butter Puff,” Courtney decries.

From the bottom of my empty My Little Mermaid bowl, a faded Ariel and Flounder wave,

“You are what you eat!” Self-denial Me: “No, that’s a lie!”

when deep into the bloodstream travels the sugar I crave.

From the bottom of my empty bowl, a faded Ariel and Flounder wave

Next day, Look! I see she has drawn me as a Reese’s Puff monstrosity!

Deep in the bloodstream hides the sugary goodness I crave.

When they return home from work, I inform my parents of this atrocity:

“Courtney has drawn me as a Reese’s Puff monstrosity!”

In her caricature: my torso swollen to a Puff like Wonka’s Violet Beauregarde,

When they return home, I cannot stand by this atrocity:

“Fire her! Fire her now!” I plead with my whole heart.

Mid-section ballooned to a Puff like Wonka’s Violet Beauregarde,

“I know what I like and I like what I like and that’s not what I’m like,” I brood-think.

“Fire her! Fire her now!” I plead with my whole heart,

But the tale just turns my folks tickled pink.

“I know what I like and I like what I like,” I think,

Afternoons on those languid summer days.

A true gourmand, just tickled pink.

“Reese’s Peanut Butter Puffs!” I exclaim. Always.

Pantoumhumor
2

About the Creator

Kate Kastelberg

-cottage-core meets adventure

-revels in nature, mystery and the fantastical

-avoids baleful gaze of various eldritch terrors

-your Village Witch before it was cool

-under command of cats and owls

-let’s take a Time Machine back to the 90s

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    Yeah, I'm with the parents here, the picture was probably funny.

  • Kendall Defoe 2 months ago

    And now, I want to try this one!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.