Poets logo

Redolent

A captivating scent

By Ali SPPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
19
Redolent
Photo by Marvin van Beek on Unsplash

Above the turquoise waters,

Next to the weather treated docks

An ambrosial scent latches onto the tail of the wind

It strokes the waves and tangos with leaves

A heavenly fragrance wafts beneath my nostrils.

*

Someone is slowly uncorking a perfume bottle.

The viscous liquid licks the walls of its new glass cage.

Searching for a chink in the armor, a glimmer of escape.

I can feel the warmth and the sweetness inside me

As the aroma slinks down my throat.

*

I am carried home on a heady mix

Of sawdust and cherry blossom,

To a familiar door I've never met before

Will you let me in to explore?

*

The light sneaks up your face.

Flourishing your skin

As the candles flicker

I bask in the flashes of yellow 

It's almost too bright to look at

My eyes were deprived of such beauty 

They need some time to adjust and absorb

*

I reach into a dusty draw to pull out a notebook

I want to read you like a psalm

But my mind is slowed by the fog

Your smell accosted my senses 

My brain felt like a rusted door crying out for oil.

*

I sink into a carpeted corner.

Cloaked in your sweet concoction

Dreaming broken dreams about the origin of elegies

while you unravel me with every look.

Pulling the curtains covering my heart to the ground 

Time does not sleep

It just stands still.

.......................................

Thank you for reading!

love poems
19

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    Subscribed

  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    Exotically beautiful! And a winner! 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.