Poets logo

Red

The color of desire.

By Julia AlfredPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
2
Red
Photo by Jeff Siepman on Unsplash

I inch you closer to my lips;

Swirling,

Sniffing each time between sips.

The silky smooth redness you always seem to bear,

Stains my lips but it’s a shade I love to wear.

Too much of you can lull a man to sleep,

As you race through the veins to nurse the secrets that we keep.

As I breathe you in,

Oh how it feels like a sin.

Your scent faint but quite grasping,

As the cold glass brushes my chin.

As your taste hits my tongue,

Smooth like silk on skin,

I smile knowing this glass will soon grace my lips again.

vintage
2

About the Creator

Julia Alfred

I am a born Dreamer leading an unbelievable life.Encountered people who match the villainous and heroic personas we read about in stories & done things I would surely do better.

A penny for my thoughts is worth it.

Visit Cathartic Whispers

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer11 months ago

    Wow this was so good. I'm not a wine drinking but I want to go out and by a bottle right now. what an enthralling poem. Very well done

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Lovely poem !

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.