Poets logo

Red Lips

Poem

By LilyPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
1
Red Lips
Photo by Etienne Girardet on Unsplash

Color of blood

Fresh blood

Red blood

On my lips

I put it on

I take it off

I like it on

Can’t show it off

Too flashy

Too trashy

I hear in my head

Wipe it off

Pigment on skin

That’s all it is

But when its on

Fear sets in

Alarms in my brain

Painful words

Of a time in the past

Rush back in a flash

Too bold

Too much

I convict myself

I refuse myself

Just a lipstick

Just my lips

Send me to

A shameful end

I throw it away

Into the bin

Red love

Red hate

Into the pile

Of hidden me's

surreal poetrysad poetry
1

About the Creator

Lily

Writer, Teacher Assistant, creator and believer in the law of attraction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was so poignant and emotional! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.