Poets logo

Red Carpet

A Floor Stained With Blood

By Poppy Published about a year ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
4
Red Carpet
Photo by Mockaroon on Unsplash

The red carpet looks

More like blood than

Rose petals when you’re

Standing on it with your

Arm linked with hers and I’m

Wearing a dress the colour

Of a midnight ocean but

You’re too busy thinking

She’s the sun to care

The garden is crowded

The hugs are fake and

All I can do is search for you

Out of habit in an attempt

At closure because of

The way you made me think

Love was a floor stained

With blood

I wrote and

I withered

And I wept

And you walked

Past me like all

I did was say goodbye

When you never even

Gave me the chance to

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed this please read more of my poetry and prose:

heartbreaksad poetrylove poems
4

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock5 months ago

    Open wounds, blood flowing forth.

  • Neo Neoabout a year ago

    Not only does the red carpet bring an element of grandeur to any home, but it also provides an amazing backdrop for a variety of events. Whether you are hosting an intimate dinner party or an extravagant celebration, a red carpet can give your event the sense of importance and importance that it deserves. And since it’s so easily customizable, you can choose from a variety of colors, patterns, and textures to match the theme of your event and make it truly unique.https://carpetstiledubai.com/red-carpets/

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.