Poets logo

Red,

Resignation Letter

By david lovePublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in the Short and Sweet Challenge
5

If the rain only knew

Had only felt

One vein upon your hand

One hour in your eyes

It’d see no need to fall

Or cry

To sour and then dry

To live or need or die

To ever say it’s time

.

So now the air is wet

Like a star

On a pond

Lone dew drop on a lawn

The last note in the song

I hear now you are gone

.

But I can feel you yet

Only here

In my head

Like fire to warm the dead

The life that I once bled

My love,

My rose,

Dear Red.

love poemsheartbreak
5

About the Creator

david love

Part-time accountant, former disaster relief project supervisor, wanna-be writer.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Heartbreaking!!! Congratulations!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.