Poets logo

Recycle Bin Poetry

a poem

By Sam Eliza GreenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
photo by Steve Johnson on Pexels

I’m sorry.

*

I just can’t write today.

I’m burnt down, stressed out,

and maybe you can relate.

*

I’ve been shifting words for hours,

creating a mishmash

of messy meter, uncooked metaphors

and images that clash.

*

Paging Dr. Frankenstein,

teach me how to sew

broken

stanzas

back together,

or maybe Dr. Seuss knows.

*

Instead of tearing out my hair,

I sit bitterly and stare

at singsong rhymes

until I want to cry

*

because you’re worth it.

*

Hopefully soon,

I’ll write you

a ballad of deceit and bravery,

recall tales of the voracious muse,

lords of runes,

and pirates lording the sea.

*

But I am starved of something undefined,

and for all that is right,

I hope this monster never sees the light.

performance poetrysad poetrysocial commentarysurreal poetryexcerpts
1

About the Creator

Sam Eliza Green

Wayward soul, who finds belonging in the eerie and bittersweet. Poetry, short stories, and epics. Stay a while if you're struggling to feel understood. There's a place for you here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    Glad you let us peek under the bed and find this delightful monster.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.