Poets logo

Recover Out Loud

A personal insight poem

By Jenny CrumbPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
Self-Care isn't selfish 🙌

You know what comes with ADHD,

An extremely addictive personality.

Cigarettes, sex and drugs,

Always hanging with the troubled thugs.

Although trauma was the gateway drug,

It was brushed under the rug.

A mother's love was my true desire,

But instead I lit the fire.

Because I continuously cut the wire,

The proper love never transpired.

True love is all I ever desired,

Which is why I played a puppet and submitted as hired.

Love affair like no other,

When I had nothing left, not even a brother.

After years of denial and severed ties,

I began to stop the lies.

I was blinded by the fire,

I had everything a person could desire.

Personal growth and boundary setting,

Led me to freedom and educating.

A long road it's been of self discovery,

Not free from the pain of rejection over recovery.

Functional family dynamics,

The goal of perfect academics

Self worth, confidence and decision making skills,

And the ability to pay all my bills.

These things may still be a work in progress,

but that doesn't mean I am not a success,

so I will continue asa tigress!

❤😊🙌

-Jenny

P.s. Loved it? Tip the Author😉 👍

#RecoverOutLoud #RecoveryIsWorthIt

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Jenny Crumb

Jenny is a busy on the go mom of two that is passionate about sustainability, mental health and eveything in between. She takes prides in herself for being an Impactivist by advocating and educating others how they can also make an impact!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.