Poets logo

Reconciliation

or the start of it

By Lauren (she/they)Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Reconciliation
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

We fell in love

and as we did so, our masks fell

We learned about each other, and ourselves

Realizing that we were pawns, thoughtless

raised to behave a certain way, to get a more desirable outcome.

Marriage certainly seemed to be a desirable outcome, before we knew

that we weren't who we thought

Maybe he sees it differently

Maybe it could've worked out one way or another

But he could never defend me in the ways I needed defending

love me the ways I needed loving

So I will learn to do it myself

This is the outcome I choose

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Lauren (she/they)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.