Poets logo

Reclamation

An abecedarian poem

By Catherine DorianPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
5
Reclamation
Photo by Viktor Forgacs on Unsplash

"Apple, apple, fallen in the water,"

begins the song we learn in the

camerata choir. We are all girls,

desperate to distinguish ourselves in notes,

exclusive for our clandestine pleasure in the

friction between voices that all want to be the star.

Give me grace, please God, as I appropriate

his Hungarian folk songs. Forgive me for the lie

I tell: that my grandfather, a refugee of

just another Soviet-occupied country, used to

know these songs and sing them to me.

Let me have this one, since he floated away when I was young;

Make this my apology: a lie about a song that he

never hummed to me, which becomes a segue to his story.

Over dinner, I share the song with my mother, who,

pregnant with her own longing, reminds us of his

question — Why do they take from me? He was at a

riot in the streets, after which a priest in

Szombathely proclaimed, "Our young have left us."

Terror comes here, too: I left him

under the covers of his hospital bed in the den, a

vegetable who knew how to grow cherries on vines,

while I breakfasted on pop tarts filled with

xanthine gum and other things unpronounceable. Like

yarn unravelling, I relegate him to a private

zenith, where my version of him knows the song I claim is ours.

Free VerseFamilyElegy
5

About the Creator

Catherine Dorian

Writer and teacher. Sometimes, I write about teaching.

For me, writing is compulsive, but it never feels self-destructive; it’s the safest medium by which I can confront what scares me.

I've been told my Instagram needs a makeover.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Ellen Dorian4 months ago

    Makes my heart ache. You were only a baby when he sang to you and danced with you cheek to cheek.

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler4 months ago

    So beautifully done, Catherine! Someone once told me that of all the outlets we use for words, we 'feel' poems more. I can feel the longing and the gauzy way we remember people. History and family, too. However, I can taste the pop tart!

  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    Wonderful and full of depth

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.