Poets logo

Reavers

You're a victim of what you created

By Anna TorresPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Like
Reavers
Photo by Simon Berger on Unsplash

What attempt has been successful today? Banishment or offering? Make your pleas but you cannot stay. I intend to consume you rapidly. My altar of human remains and you are now added to my collection. Bring me more lambs to slaughter. Keep me isolated and sedated and hope there's no resurrection. No crosses or holy water can violate me. Am I the external threat that terrorizes your village? Am I the looming shadow that frightens throughout the night? I'm the sickness purging itself onto your children. Violent memories stick like the blood running in the streams. I'm the epitome of evil and all your past mistakes. I'm the bastard infection spreading obsession and brutality. The scapegoat for all your sins and treachery. I lead you into darkness and you learn to adapt well. You let the illness sink in until you're a part of the masterpiece. You're a catastrophe awaiting imminent notoriety. No sympathy for me because I'll eat you whole. I'm the heartbeat tormenting generations of nonsense. Belladonna in my eyes and hemlock down my throat. Your lore has memorized my footsteps. Your fables keep the faith ongoing. Fear has led everyone to repentance. Absolution will not spare you. An invention created to take all the blame. A religion meant to soothe the passage of time. Life has ravaged us all but I'm still here to burn all you leave behind. I've witnessed obliterated stars and dying suns. I've laid waste to your decapitated daughters and half-wit sons. I cannot die. Your sacrifices keep me alive.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    Interesting

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.