Poets logo

Really!?

The Joy of owning a house in winter

By Gerald HolmesPublished about a year ago 1 min read
17
Photo by Author

There once was a man from Toronto

Who wished he still lived in a Condo

As he watched in dismay

A city plow come his way

And undo his shovelling pronto!!

This actually happened to me at 6 o'clock this morning as I was trying to shovel out my driveway so my wife could go to work!!!

surreal poetry
17

About the Creator

Gerald Holmes

Born on the east coast of Canada. Travelled the world for my job and discovered that kindness is the most attractive feature in any human.

R.I.P. Tom Brad. Please click here to be moved by his stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Good one👍

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Great limerick... Unfortunate situation!!!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Loved this. Any thing that begins There once was a man….and I live in PA I feel your pain

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Oh my! I bet that was a pain in the butt 🥲 At least it made a great limerick!!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Ha! But I feel your pain from the extremely snowy way Northern WI. ❄️❄️❄️

  • PK Colleranabout a year ago

    I know that feeling all too well! It happened dozens of times over the years when I lived in New York. Great subject for a limerick!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Oh man, but you might win two grand!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    I actually nervously laughed at the end of your limerick as said out loud , “oh no!” Very good.

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    I found the limerick humorous and relatable, as I too have experienced the frustration of shoveling snow only to have a plow undo my hard work.

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Grrrrrrrreat! Limerick

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Lol, I been in the position before. If you do live in a cando, you don’t have to worry about shoveling . Nicely done and relatable ❤️😂

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Omg. I don't envy ya, Bro. Good one.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Omg how frustrating!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.