Poets logo

Realize

June 2020

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Realize
Photo by Eye for Ebony on Unsplash

If I only have one chance,

I will try to maximize

I don't know how you'll react,

I can only hypothesize

I can't explain everything I feel for you,

but I'll try to summarize

Simply put, my heart is yours,

a point I'll strongly emphasize

I have so many feelings for you,

but you don't even realize

I don't want to risk losing you,

so keeping my mouth shut may be wise

I want to keep you as a friend,

so I try to compartmentalize

I value the relationship we have,

so it's not something I want to jeopardize

I bite my tongue

because I might confess my feelings otherwise

I see you as more than a friend,

but you don't even realize

It's not inexperience speaking,

you're truly different than other guys

I don't have to choose between qualities I want,

I don't have to compromise

You're not just another contestant in the game of love,

you are the prize

I'd be a fool to let you slip away,

that much I recognize

I'd give anything for you to be mine,

but you don't even realize

Maybe what I remember of you

is too far from the truth as I romanticize

I know I have a tendency

to daydream and idealize

But still sometimes when I close my eyes

you're all I can visualize

And sometimes when I lie in bed at night

and wish you would materialize

In my mind, you're right here next to me,

but you don't even realize

You often consume my thoughts

to the point I agonize

Thinking of what I should have said or done,

my whole heart cries

I have to delete messages

so I don't go back and overanalyze

I still don't know what I am to you,

no label to categorize

I know what you are to me,

but you don't even realize

Your time and your affection

are two things I'd often love to monopolize

I look at you, my mind starts to wander,

and I can't help but fantasize

I picture touching every inch of your body

that my hands will memorize

I imagine kissing your mouth

with those lips that mesmerize

It's so hard to control myself around you,

but you don't even realize

It's something I try to keep to myself

and not really advertise

But my face can't hide its smile when you're around

no matter how hard it tries

And my heart can't mask its pounding

or my stomach its butterflies

Surely it would be obvious

if you looked into my eyes

It seems like my feelings would be glaring,

but you don't even realize

I tell myself I'm happy with how things are,

but deep down I know it's all lies

I don't mean to complicate,

I don't want to dramatize

I don't want to make things more awkward

or need to apologize

These feelings I've tried to suppress,

but like dust, they continue to rise

The truth is that I'm in love with you,

but you don't even realize

love poems
Like

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.