Poets logo

Ready to Move Mountains

Starting Over-Song Lyrics

By Natalie WilkinsonPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
2
Ready to Move Mountains
Photo by Hannah Xu on Unsplash

Ready to Move Mountains

Dec 12, 2021

If I could write with the simplicity and straight-as-an-arrow truth that Tom Petty always brought to his songs, I’d have achieved something.

V1.

When I woke up the sky was grey,

But I’m ready to move mountains today.

I’ve known sorrow since you went away,

But I’m starting over and it’s OK.

I’m ready to move mountains today.

C.

Ready to move mountains,

Yeah, ready to face the day.

Yeah, I’m ready to move mountains,

Ready to move mountains today.

V2.

I start the coffee and look outside,

I’m ready to move mountains today.

Complete rejection had hurt my pride,

I’ve been weak and shaky inside,

But I’m ready to move mountains today.

V3.

Hot water flowing over me.

I’m ready to move mountains today.

There’s a scar on my chest no one can see,

But I think my heart has been set free,

So I’m ready to move mountains today.

C.

Ready to move mountains,

Yeah, ready to face the day.

Yeah, I’m ready to move mountains,

Ready to move mountains today.

When push comes to shove, I’m ready to move mountains today.

*******************

Since I happen to know quite a few good songwriters and I’m not a musician, attempting lyrics has all the thrills of coming down off the top of a roller coaster, but if you thought that was OK, you could support my writing by just reading it (I get a penny for my thoughts), leaving a heart, subscribing to my page or leaving a tip. Any or all responses are appreciated. There is more of everything else on my Vocal page.

My first trip into the world of lyrics is attached below. Let me know if you can find a tune in your heart to fit either one.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Natalie Wilkinson

Writing. Woven and Printed Textile Design. Architectural Drafting. Learning Japanese. Gardening. Not necessarily in that order.

IG: @maisonette _textiles

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.