Poets logo

Read or Dream

A Poem in Pantoum Form

By Staci TroiloPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
6
Read or Dream
Photo by Hayden Scott on Unsplash

Wool-lined slippers warm my feet

Grandpa’s old cardigan gives me a hug

Flames in the fireplace cast comforting heat

The scent of Irish coffee wafts from my mug



Grandpa’s old cardigan gives me a hug

Grandma’s hand-knitted blanket rests on my lap

The scent of Irish coffee wafts from my mug

Classical music lulls me toward an afternoon nap



Grandma’s hand-knitted blanket rests on my lap

A leather-bound mystery keeps me from sleep

Classical music lulls me toward an afternoon nap

I snuggle into couch cushions, soft and deep



A leather-bound mystery keeps me from sleep

Wool-lined slippers warm my feet

I snuggle into couch cushions, soft and deep

Flames in the fireplace cast comforting heat

list
6

About the Creator

Staci Troilo

Staci's love for writing is only surpassed by her love for family and friends, and that relationship-centric focus is featured in her work, regardless of the genre she's currently immersed in. https://stacitroilo.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Beem Weeks2 years ago

    A warm reminder of the coming fall/winter seasons. A beautiful piece of poetry, Staci.

  • John W. Howell2 years ago

    Make me look forward to the holidays. Excellent feelings, Staci

  • D.L. Finn2 years ago

    This makes me feel all cozy and wishing for a cool autumn day to sit by the fire.

  • Joan Hall2 years ago

    This makes me wish for fireplace weather. The imagery and words are comforting.

  • Gwen Plano2 years ago

    Incredible poem and I love the form! 🤗

  • Jan Sikes2 years ago

    I love this SO much, Staci. What a wonderful form of poetry. I love the repetition, the comfort, and the contrasts. Just beautiful!

  • Harmony Kent2 years ago

    I can feel the comfort! Wonderful imagery, Staci 💕🙂

  • Michele Jones2 years ago

    This makes me want to curl up and read a good book with a nice hot cup of coffee.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.