Poets logo

Reaching

A Poem about heartbreak

By Kyandra MayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

When I wake up, I reach for you,

and you are not there.

My heart drops to my stomach.

My lungs gasp for air.

I feel lost and aimless,

can't find direction.

I feel alone and afraid,

and long for connection.

My chest is replaced

by a hollow tomb,

filled with darkness

that crawls and consumes.

I try but I cannot

fight back the tears.

But the cries silent

nobody hears.

Tormented by feelings,

from regret to disdain;

they're out for vengeance,

they bring on the pain.

The guilt's overwhelming.

I did bad. I did wrong. messed up.

But the shame is unbearable.

I am bad. I am wrong. will never be enough.

It's too much to take, so I reach for you

and you're still not there.

I am bolted awake by reality,

and this tragedy of care.

I tell myself

I know are not true.

have nothing, I feel nothing,

I am nothing, without you.

go to reach for you again,

but I remember you are .

I resist the urge.

this is moving on.

I struggle out of bed,

for I am heavier without you.

I go about my day,

and pause when I'm about to

reach for you again.

It still happens now and then.

But I'm hoping soon I'll reach,

and find myself instead.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.