Poets logo

Ray

of sunshine

By Simara AskewPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Ray of sunshine

Ray of light beaming through the dimmest of darkness,

once my darkness disguised as the past I never wanted to heal from

Ray, sting Ray

it still stings if I think about it too long so I try not to,

but I'm human so here we are.

Thinking again,

as if that means anything to begin with

Ray -

when can I start associating you with light again?

Ray of Sunshine is the only thing that comes to mind,

only I still don't feel the shine

And it's hot outside, so where is the sunlight

I beg you where is the sunlight

I feel it in my face and can almost touch you simultaneously

Ray of baggage that I would like very much to let go of now.

It's heavy and I'm not getting any stronger,

Please help.

Help me out the same way you helped me in, into this tangled web of Rays of sunshine.

I kinda like it here

I kinda hate it here

It kind of feels familiar here, but I would also very much like to leave.

Maybe not in a hurry, but there is a such thing as too much sunshine. I think I'd like some shade now.

I think I'd like some rain now.

heartbreaklove poemsnature poetrysad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Simara Askew

Hi ! Thankful for the opportunity to express myself and connect, thankful for this space.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.