Poets logo

Rare Things

A list

By Chloë J.Published about a year ago 1 min read
1
Rare Things
Photo by Fred Moon on Unsplash

Silence in my empty home;

I like a little background sound.

I feel a little less alone,

with the TV on, I’ve found.

//

True joy on your smiling face;

your mouth grins easily enough,

but my eyes find no single trace

of happiness-I call your bluff.

//

Rain, here in this desert town;

when it fell, you’d dance with me.

Now, when it comes tumbling down,

I’m still soaked, but missing our glee.

//

Kindness in the words we trade;

once, we spoke in love’s language-

now we talk in tongues like blades,

relish in the other’s anguish.

//

Love in your eyes, when they find mine;

eyes can’t lie the way words do;

we say the three, false gifts on shrines,

knowing full well they’re not true.

//

Things once common, now so rare,

I scarce can recall how they felt-

our icy castle in the air,

once our haven, now does melt.

///

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Micah The Peachabout a year ago

    Un-flowery, meandering, a lazy river leading to a torrential waterfall that only makes a splash while its bubbling around in the readers mind a few moments after finishing the last line. Reminds me of Plath and why I loved her prose so much.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.