Poets logo

Random Little Thoughts

A small collection

By Heidi McCloskeyPublished 11 months ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
1
Random Little Thoughts
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Only for the Brave

I am no one

Without much to say

In silence I observe.

But

Pen scratches paper

Fingers tap lettered squares.

And

I am someone

With everything to say

My mind all abuzz

Just trying to find the right words.

By Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

Who She Was

A life was lost today.

I knew her name, but sadly,

I didn’t know her.

A connected piece to my own DNA.

A lost and troubled soul

Too young to be taken away.

But she had been loved,

And she will be missed.

I hope you have found peace.

I hope you have shed your pain.

That you are dancing amongst the clouds.

Wrapped safely in the arms

of loved ones lost before you passed.

And I’m sorry that

All I ever really knew of you

was your name.

By Tobias Reich on Unsplash

Whispers of the Past

Dimly lit streets illuminated

By the moon’s iridescent glow.

Visions and stories

Memories of days long ago

In an era of time, I shall never know.

Yet, I cannot help but wonder

Who was the first to love in this place?

Who was the last to say goodbye?

Shadows stand like ghosts

Frozen in another time.

I can still see the couples dance

Hear the music and laughter.

Cascading snowfalls and blooming springs

Laid upon these brick paved streets.

A lonely witness to so many seasons.

Decades of time trapped in silhouette.

A black and white photo

Of a boy kissing a girl.

Proof of their life

And the love they shared.

By Alfred Schrock on Unsplash

Nature’s Way

A blooming flower preparing to die someday,

An endless cycle of death and rebirth

So confusing nature’s way

The way things die,

but only appear to just wither away.

By Matt Collamer on Unsplash

The Leaf

Drifting lonely in the wind.

The little lead can see no end.

Taken away by something else.

Unable to choose its own way out.

Waiting patiently for the wind to stop.

To finally land in a comfortable spot.

Only to be taken away again.

Somewhere else, some other place.

Drifting lonely in the wind.

The little lead can find no end.

Since only one of these was over the word count requirement, I decided to put them all together. Thanks for reading!

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Heidi McCloskey

I have internally decided that I am a writer. Since that decision was made, the voice in my head has changed. It’s become louder as it begs to be released.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test7 months ago

    You have a way with words. I must say that this was an exceptionally well-written piece that I thoroughly enjoyed.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.