Poets logo

Ran in for One Thing

Limerick

By Kristen BalyeatPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Ran in for One Thing
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

I ran in the store to purchase one thing-

I wanted a tiny, shining gold ring.

Walking the aisles I saw this and that,

I filled up my cart till it was bulging and fat.

Bought more than I need but *sigh* I didn't purchase the bling!!!

sad poetryperformance poetry

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    This poem humorously depicts the relatable experience of getting distracted while shopping and forgetting the original reason for going to the store.

Kristen BalyeatWritten by Kristen Balyeat

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.