Poets logo

Ramblings part 55

Writing

By Josephine MasonPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
8
Ramblings part 55
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

Why do we write

Do we write because we need to share

To escape from our daily lives

Or just because we're good at it and it could make us money

~

Why do we write

To prove something perhaps

Just to show that we can

Because we're bored

~

I write because I'm always telling a story

But for the longest time it stayed in my mind

Not till I put pen to paper, fingers to keyboard

Did I discover that I could put it down

~

I joined all of you for a challenge

The black book one to be exact

I look back at it now

And man that story is crap

~

I joined for money and fame

But later it just became a need to express

Still it would be nice to be seen

At least once in a while you know what I mean

~

For everyone who doesn't feel like their writing is seen

Please know that I see you

I see your effort and the work you put in

Even if Vocal doesn't

~

So many talented writers all around

So many voices calling out

We all ultimately want the same thing

For our writing to be seen

~

With landing on the fiction challenge shortlist I finally hit a turn around point with Vocal at least slightly. I was becoming highly discouraged by the lack of recognition from the site especially when compared to the words of my peers who have praised and supported me to no end. So understand that even if Vocal doesn't recognize you that I do and so many others do as well. I hope you enjoyed this rambling. If you did then please heart, subscribe, and feel free to leave a tip. You can now also pledge 3 dollars a month to me and help support me as a creator. If you do, you get the benefit of having my stories at the top of your subscription feed anytime I post something new. Till next time.

social commentary
8

About the Creator

Josephine Mason

I write because I'm always drifting off to other lands in my mind. Please subscribe, like, and if I'm doing well please tip. You can buy my first book now at the link below. Available on many ebook platforms. https://books2read.com/u/bQygdE

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.