Poets logo

Ramblings of a Tired Mom

Coffee and Late Nights

By Kelly HornePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ramblings of a Tired Mom
Photo by Megan te Boekhorst on Unsplash

Drinking coffee at 10:00pm. At least it is on a Saturday night.

I have set myself up for failure, but sleep will come with a fight.

I am writing at the dawn of a new day. Sounds beautiful right?

The mindless words of a sleep deprived mama who tries with all her might.

.

Why am I still typing. I ask this question in my head.

I would be much better off at least lying in my bed.

Or quietly reading, and then able to dream about what I read.

But I continue typing, typing, typing instead.

.

My son has started a bad habit

Of playing late into the night on his tablet

He is currently playing a game on it

While we are in the living room fully lit

.

Tomorrow morning I know I will regret

How long we stayed up, awake and set

A new bedtime routine that would eventually let

Our bodies think we did not need the rest we did not get.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Kelly Horne

Married. Loving mother to my daughter and son. Full time employee of local government office as an Admin Asst. Currently in process of obtaining my Master's Degree in Library Science.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.