Poets logo

Rainbow River

Dogs are a girls best friend

By Sadie Hirsch Published about a year ago 2 min read
Like

I see the zest of life in your eyes

So fresh and new to the world

So much exploring to do

On sparkling tiny toes

You twinkle through the days and lazy afternoons

Waiting patiently for me to come home soon

You wonder where I go, and why I leave your side

Not knowing I'd stay forever if I didn't have to fly

Fly away from you because of human things

Money, bills and desires, and whimsical human dreams

You hear the whir of an engine and the beep of a lock

It's time! She's here! My anxiety is gone!

I grab the bags and packs, the boots and jackets too

Because nothing makes me happier than spending every day with you

The golden haze of age, turned silver in our days

Like the fur on your muzzle, and the feathers of your wings

We don't have to run anymore, we're better off dawdling

Looking forward to moving slowly and enjoying every moment

I always knew your wisdom was evergreen in your eyes

Enduring, faithful, loyal, my blessed teacher of life

A mirror reflecting myself through your love and light abound

Never wavering for a moment, that this human of yours would astound

So you taught me most of life's lessons in a few magnificent years

That seem to span eternity because our particles are next to each whether we're far or near

They say the void stares back at you if you look at it too long

We gazed for a million lives into the love that is our souls

These days aren't gold or silver, they take on a different color

It's more like a Rainbow after knowing the true other

And your favorite thing to do on lazy Sundays with me

Is play and nap so youthfully next to the River tree

The colors of your wild and the freedom of your heart

Is painted like a masterpiece, forever embellishing my heart

I held your twinkling eyes, and your sparkling tiny toes

As I made a boat of courage for you to sail into the unknown

But you already had a ship made of wood so big and strong

You used it a million times already, and I had also used it some

You said the courage wasn't for you, really it was for me

Because the Rainbow River was both of ours, to sail on when we're ready

And on the other side isn't the unknown, it's a place of love and light

Because that's what we're both made of, two hearts that beat as one

So you give me one last gift before you sail away

You remind me that it's not Goodbye

It's See You Later my friend, another sunny day

surreal poetrysad poetrylove poems
Like

About the Creator

Sadie Hirsch

Mystical creative who writes, dreams, dances and sings

Breast Cancer survivor at 35, grateful for each day I'm alive

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.