Poets logo

Rainbow Recovery

A never-ending journey home in foreign lands...

By Cressida Lavinia VegaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
22
Recital of Poem by Me.

I tumbled to Earth all rainbows, blossom pops and neon ribbons... But in a world of grey I, inevitably, lost my way ...and when the concrete stares back at you with blank indifference, no matter how many glitter specked slops of pigment you coughed up and spat out, with hope-tempered indignance... You start to question your vibrance - your beauty resplendent. Is joy even worthy? Shame a better replacement? They seem to all cheer when I deflate in complacence, surrender my Truth and lay flat on the pavement... My passions and purples - bled dry in raindance...

Yet blueberry hues of sweetly spiced dew swell passed their impudence and drip onto my tongue - so limp and insouciant - the sudden floods back: recoils and recalled in that thunderous moment.

I dip my brush quick into my inner oceans of pink, refusing to let the dank damp settle in... I push back on this death, reclaim my Sin and bless my most blasphemous beauty within. With one fell stroke to make destinies spin, I thrash wine-soaked stars across the canvas I hid in. Loud, rambunctious, full-fat honey-bronzed; I no longer dilute to keep others fond. My foreign currency of pastels and dreams, once refused at the checkout, now fly out from all cash machines.

I had faded away as the grey it engulfed me, others warmed their ash toes in my blush-beamed shining and all that I wanted was to see life reflect me - yet, all that was out there did only reject me.

I fizzed and I popped, my wings still scattering my essence, more at home with the flowers than my own people's presence... I'm just grateful my wild survived the oppression of meanness and chaos and jealous aggression. My spirit once floored found the cracks through depression and soon realised I'm here to offer my medicine. I noticed more faerie folk, witches and shamans walking my same path to shed their light rays and when sick come my way I just lay on some crayons, paint them in yellows in bays of green mermaids, then send them back over the rainbow to playdance.

I bring the music, the cake and the laughter, I bring the joy and the peace ever after. So pardon me Grey, I was lost for a minute, but now I've remembered and I'll let you in on it. My shadow, my friend - confused, ill-met master, follow me home for together we'll dream up a heaven far vaster.

So mote it be and so it is.

surreal poetry
22

About the Creator

Cressida Lavinia Vega

WrSta

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.