Poets logo

R.I.P. Fairness, truth and morality

Uncommon and rare indeed

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
R.I.P. Fairness, truth and morality
Photo by Oksana Manych on Unsplash

The true nature of things

Is that fairness, truth and morality died

I personally attended their funeral

A long, long time ago

Fortunately, they left young ones

For us to nourish and cherish

Do not neglect them as you did their parents

Or all will certainly be lost

The true nature of things

I reiterate, is that life as we know it

Which when bared in glaring light and truth

Can be beautiful or ugly, depending on the you

Maybe there never was honesty in the world

Maybe there never was fairness or moral values

Moral turpitude seems to be a given

Set in stone somewhere, which we cannot touch

Maybe we have always been waiting in vain

For the correct and right thing to be done

Maybe the agenda has always been...

Sure, I know it really is unfair

Unfair... but I don't really give a damn

About anybody else but myself and me

Yet, how does anyone measure honesty

If the yardstick was long tossed away

Into distant obscurity and oblivion

I have never expected perfection from life

All I asked for was ninety percent

Let there be truth in 90% of what you promised

The other ten percent, I reserve

For human error and room to change or adjust

Or sometimes, even remain the same

By Alex Shute on Unsplash

Perfection is an unrealizable expectation

Within which one will never win

And will be sorely disappointed if patiently

Waiting, for the right thing done every single time

Personally, I just want to feel justified, fulfilled

Happy and content deep within myself

I cannot, nor do I wish to change you

Ask you to be the bigger person

Or even to deliver what you promised

Just be fair to me, I will return the favor

And be JUST as fair to you!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

sad poetryslam poetryperformance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.