Poets logo

The Glasses on my face, yet I can't find them problem

The sure sign I'm looking at daisies, roses and sunflowers.

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
Nicole Pollok - Unsplash

You know that moment when,

You first realize that

The time is fast approaching when

The phrase "pushing up daisies" comes to mind

Well, I seem to be staring not only at daisies

But at sunflowers, roses, carnations and

A whole host of other lovely flowers too

So, this rare (not so rare) phenomenon

Has been a tad worrisome for me lately

I am growing frustrated searching tirelessly

For my reading glasses, where could they be?

By Jess Bailey on Unsplash

I've looked here there and everywhere

Finally, tuckered out and needing some Ensure

I realize that I am not having any problems

Actually reading the instructions on the can

"Wow. I don't think I need glasses anymore"!

I advise the whole world loud and clear

"Have you lost your glasses again, Grandma"?

Enquired my cheeky grandson, a sly grin on his face

"How do you know that, you smug little rascal"?

He walks over, stands in front of me

Leaving me quite perplexed and a bit enquiring

"Grandma, give me your hand". I'm cautious

He is rather a tricky one, loves playing pranks

Up goes my hand to touch my...........eyes

Oh oh! Did I manage to lose my glassses

While they are comfortably resting on my nose again

{Sometimes I find them frozen in the fridge}

Although I certainly have no immediate and woeful wish

To be pushing any kind of floral arrangement anytime soon

I need to get my act together, plant some of those lovely

Forget-me-not unforgettable blossoming blooms.

By Catia Climovich on Unsplash

Sigh!

Fini!

slam poetryperformance poetrynature poetry
2

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • JL Sportglasses4 months ago

    good

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.