Poets logo

Questioning My Luck

#VocalNPM

By Kristina KingPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

I can hear the birds chirp when I lay down by my window.

Some sound so beautiful; like they just want to share their beauty with the world.

Some sound painful. Like they are hurting and crying is the only way to seek help.

Some sound at ease. So peaceful; as if they're without a care or worry in the world.

I'm not a very vocal person. I once was when I was little. I was in my church's choir. And I would sing as a way to cope with any problems I was dealing with...

When bad things started happening to me I blamed anyone else who I felt had been a part of the problem and thought good luck couldn't possibly exist if those things kept happening. But a part of me had to still have some belief left in my heart. When I listen to those birds I think about how I feel with each emotion I feel they are showing. I start to compare the birds to human beings. Is that what each of us with all our emotions sound like, if luck exists? Sometimes I get frustrated when I hear the painful sounds. Like why won't one of their bird friends help? I can't but I still get sad. Maybe nobody can help. I think about the painful birds and maybe they're just in need of something. Food, water, a friend. I want to be there for them. But because I'm not a bird all I can do is try to guide them in the right way.

Is that just how life works? Bad things can happen and sometimes having bad luck is inevitable. It can't be avoided. But maybe there's a way we can help ourselves heal. Help ourselves to stay strong. Maybe I've misunderstood it all... Then again, I still don't really understand...

And maybe I never will.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kristina King

Hi. I'm Kristina. I'm a cancer and two time stroke survivor. I am wheelchair bound for now but i'm going to be getting ankle surgery soon. I am a published writer and want to continue my passions for writing.

Instagram: tiredofthepane818

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.