Poets logo

Question Mark

A woman lost in questions about her own fate after a breakup :: pbpatch.wixsite.com/pbpatch

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Question Mark
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Looking at a world full of question marks

Instead of being home, wandering in the dark

Nothing now is pure black or pure white

Used to talk all night, now just continue the fight

Crying in time with the singing larks

Looking at a world full of question marks

We used to watch the sunrise on the beach

Barefoot, sand and surf, hand in each other’s reach

Once I was your universe, your moon and your stars

Now your time is spent in honky tonk bars

A lonesome dog howls a blue despairing bark

Looking at a world full of question marks

How did she become your number one

We used to laugh all day, life smiles and fun

Now I get monosyllables, your soul far away

Her name on your lips, feet itching to stray

Is our marriage irretrievable, shattered on the rocks

Looking at a world full of question marks

Have we drifted so far apart the gulf won’t breach

Shattered bridge abutments scattered at my feet

My tingling fingers remember the touch of your hand

Her hand you hold now, swaying to the band

At three a.m. the bar and my life will go quiet and dark

Lost in a world become a question mark

Neon sign still blazes, your car in the lot

Her lipstick on the seat, melting in the hot

Music blasts from the door as a drunk stumbles out

Do I go inside for a screaming bout

Acid roiling in my gut, tears launching an ark

Lost in a world become a question mark

Through fogged glass I see her dancing in your arms

Held tight and secure safe from all harms

My security blanket is mussed, my home no longer safe

I feel like a widow, an orphan, a forlorn forgotten waif

Not sure where I’ll head, feet wandering to the park

My whole life has become a question mark

Walking whither I really don’t know

Heated chills, icy hot then snow

A new life I’ll just have to find

Someone new my heart to bind

But tonight my life is bleak and stark

Where it’ll be tomorrow is the question mark

heartbreaklove poemssad poetry
2

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Deborah Lane2 years ago

    I could see the woman outside the bar watching as her ex danced with another woman. I felt her pain and confusion. Very well written and extremely relatable. Keep it up.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.