Poets logo

Queen of Hearts

It's written in the cards.

By Jara DekkerPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Be A Queen, A Queen of Hearts.

My book, while fascinating, bores me.

My favourite music echoes hollow notes in my ears.

Where is the excitement from a few days past? I had been so sure this time it would last. Yet here I lay, restless on the shore, once more wondering what’s in store.

As I lie in my discomfort, I observe the sounds...

Of birds and crabs, and boats and laughs and distant barking hounds.

When I begin to listen with intent I hear the ocean tell its tale, of Jonah and the whale. The lesson of which to all holds true:

You can try to run away, to keep your purpose at bay, though it’s to your own dismay.

As the sun shines brightly, it tells me sprightly “Everything you dream of, and all that you desire

is right here waiting while you’re contemplating

what it might require.

Yet the only imperative is your determination to the activation of creation, igniting the acceleration of your being!”

So what should I be, if I want to live free, want to live in perfect harmony? And the wind whispers ever so gently “Turn around and you’ll see!”

It’s written in the cards:

Be a queen, a queen of hearts.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jara Dekker

A display case, a simple space, a stage.

Upon which written works of art are shared.

The results of emotion and experience married to words...

...A soul laid bare.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.