Poets logo

Qualification Disclaimer

No Comfort in Bias

By No Real BalancePublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1

Excuse me.

.

I ain’t no wax-lyrical-meter defined-author-purpose kinda writer. I'm more like a dissect-cats-mate-flies-Punnet in the classroom reporter. I understand the submission rules and guidelines. But I gotta hand up. You wanna a poem about comfort from a TEACHERPOST-PANDEMIC?!

.

I believe your contest is biased.

.

Counter Deflected—not because I teach science. Allow me to address. I studied hard for this contest. Read every book. Completed all the homework. I counted feet. Accented rhythm. Picked apart fire side. Lead annotated.

.

I even covered E.E. Cummings

.

What makes a

POEM a po

Em of what

crucial elements

does

one need

.

? No, seriously.

.

I'm a scientist. Categorize it for me. Catalogue it. Put it in the canon. I’ll study it one thousand times over again to figure out how to win a damn poetry contest.

.

get comfortable bullshit

.

There is no comfort post-pandemic.

Not for teachers.

No hot-cocoa marshmallow frosty windows. Furry knotted kitten mew. Prismatic snowflake droppings. Poof.

It's more like

Active Drill/Fire Shooter (Hose-Drowning + Mouth-Foaming) = No rules for poetry

It makes zero sense. All of it.

I GOTTA HAND UP

can someone please explain what the fuck

(may i swear in a vocal contest)

17?

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

No Real Balance

Reluctant Writer. Teacher.

Hawking vocal contests for love letters.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.