Poets logo

Put your hands up

Turn your engine off

By T. Eugene WilliamsPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1
Image by MLive.com

Stop

He stopped me on the highway without any fear

Pulled out his lights and writing gear

"Hello Officer," my gentle eyes say

Questions rattle off the tip of his tongue

For I fit the description of someone on the run

He pulls out his gun

When he calls for a "little" backup

My heart stops

Time quickly drifts by

But when they get there

He could only sigh

Sorry, sir, you have the wrong guy

A smile hangs my face

I can't help but think it is my race

When they apologize, I peeled out and said goodbye!

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

T. Eugene Williams

Screenwriter, producer, author, and Army Veteran.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Cezanne Libellen11 months ago

    I think that this could be true, depending on where you live. Hopefully our country can fix its issues. Thank you for sharing!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.