Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

~Punk!~

Grappling with anything that gives you the strength to survive what is going on! 1 of the definitions of Punk = Prostitute! Meaning looking for and finding love where we can within our own kind, our world!

By Jennifer CooleyPublished 10 months ago 2 min read
Like
Punk Is not a Game, Punk is when you're insane, It's a way of life that holds us together!

~Punk!~

Punk is what was keeping me Alive

Punk is what protected

What was going on inside,

Punk is not a game

Punk is when you're insane.

Skating around the truth

No more straws to grasp at,

No more ways of escaping

The Pain,

Punk is a way of life that helps us

Get thru,

When we feel there is nothing left inside

Of the child,

That you all abused!

No more time to enjoy life

No more joy rides

Punk is what kept me alive,

For 10 DAM YEARS

Punk is what pulled me through,

If it wasn't for Punk and my God

Getting me out of bed,

And creating a way for me to feel

How to choose to Thrive,

Instead of laying down my life

Throwing down my fists

And living without choosing to fight!

I can't imagine what the difference would be

If I had just let myself fall,

And hit the pavement

Sitting still for years,

With a guitar case or cup out

Asking for help

From those passing by,

Until the ageing of my bones

And the drugs caught up to me

Here in Canadian weather,

When I would have to seek indoor shelter

And warmth,

That would only be superficial

And temporary on the outside,

Until that fateful day

When it's my turn

And Death came creeping upon my door!

I could have never continued to live within

This New World Order,

Without any Safety net

To help me now,

Make a difference

And change things for others.

To remain for my children

Setting an example of how lucky they are,

In knowing how much harder life can be

To understand better their love,

For Mother

And love for them from me!

So I say I have to Thank Punk

For keeping me here

For living in me,

Punk is what made me breathe

Punk is what was

Punk Kept me Alive!

But now I'm older

And all that has been drained,

And I have to start again

To find a way to LIVE

In a New Way...

Thank-You God for that,

Without time I needed for healing

I would still be trapped!

Written by,

Jennifer...

Aka A Punk Girl named Blue!

Thank You for reading!

If you liked this work, you are welcome to find your way to my page

where you can leave a tip. pledge or subscribe! I would love to hear people`s impressions, visions and emotions in regards to reading my work.

And I welcome more ideas, suggestions and encouragement for continued work that could be enjoyed here by readers and challenge me in the way of continuing to write new things!

Here are more places to follow my career and read or watch, look at pictures or just learn more to any questions you may have! :-)

www.futureproductionsonline.com

www.facebook.com/isuperwoman

https://vocal.media/authors/jennifer-cooley-48hfjk0yqk

www.youtube.com/iamjustjen

https://www.starnow.com/u/jennifercooley1/

https://www.stage32.com/profile/822213/about

https://www.instagram.com/jennifer_cooley1/

surreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Cooley

I've been writing as long as I could hold a crayon! Remember writing my first story like it was yesterday at 5. I remember the details of the day, location, time, excitement & where the story was preserved for all time! Lots Born From That!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.