Poets logo

Puck Me

A Sporting Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished 18 days ago 1 min read
5
An AI Generated Image

Some argue that meaning comes from context

Web means one thing to a tech billionaire

Another to an arachnophobe, vexed;

About what’s in the context, we should care

In the bin, I’m just so much round rubber

Anonymous, inert, quite meaningless

On the ice, I’m a coveted lover

With me, they become gods; without, worthless

Precisely what I am matters as well

If I were glass, or silk, there’d be no game;

A clever satyr with my name could tell

A joke or riddle, but what’s in a name?

Surely, meaning is made of what and where

In the net, I create joy and despair

Sonnet
5

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore18 days ago

    What and where and who then!

  • This was certainly thought provoking. Loved your poem!

  • Rachel Deeming18 days ago

    Ah, that little piece of rubber, so battered and pursued. Like the reference to Puck too. Timely sonnet too with play offs looming.

  • Ward Norcutt18 days ago

    Very clever, D.J.

  • ROCK 18 days ago

    Intriguing story by an intriguing mind!

  • 🌹Good story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.