Poets logo

Providence

Odd Man Out

By Earl W. PearlPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
4

I passed through a season of falling apart

But you were my miracle waiting to start

See, you were the dawn of a glorious day

You bolstered a man who was fading away

I stood at the corner of Failure and Doubt

But yours was the wisdom that figured me out

This cosmic event has me still mystified

How order’s achieved when two planets collide

My world was a mixture of chaos and strife

But yours was the orbit that balanced my life

I studied your manner and here’s what I found

Your heart towards others had settled me down

Now I’m treating other’s how you treated me

Becoming the person I wanted to be

Your spirit has made it abundantly clear

I’m a much better person whenever you’re near

But I was deflated to learn you would wed

My love in this circumstance wouldn’t be fed

I wrote this in secret, it’s clear what to do

This isn’t a poem I’ll be sharing with you

I’ve yet to reveal I’ll be leaving here soon

You two are the planets, I’m simply a moon

I think in God’s providence we were to meet

So I could help others who feel incomplete

love poems
4

About the Creator

Earl W. Pearl

I’ve been writing poetry (rhyming mostly) since about 2014 and have recently transitioned to writing novels and short stories. My poetry genres are faith, humor, social issues, politics, pretty much any subject matter.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rowan Finley 8 months ago

    You just stirred me up in the best of ways. Thank you.

  • You two are the planets, I’m simply a moon. This line tore my heart! Loved your poem!

  • Manisha Dhalani9 months ago

    There is a lot of beauty, I feel, in love found and love lost. You have shared your emotions so wonderfully here!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.